New · Coinpilot Lite: copy top memecoin traders.

Hyperliquid Vaults vs Copy Trading: Pooled Funds or Your Own Account?

Published
Written by
Coinpilot Team
Reading time
12 min read

Hyperliquid vaults vs copy trading apps: who controls sizing and leverage, profit share vs per-trade fees, lock-ups and where funds sit.

Comparisons ● Independent orders, your own risk limits

Short answer: A Hyperliquid vault pools your USDC with other depositors and lets one leader trade it, usually for a share of the profits, while copy trading mirrors a trader's positions into your own account under the sizing and leverage limits you set. Coinpilot is a copy-trading app of the second kind: it copies Hyperliquid traders into a self-custodial wallet and charges per-trade fees instead of a profit share.

Both routes let you follow someone else's trading on Hyperliquid, and both can lose money. The difference is control: in a vault you hand over the decisions; in copy trading you decide size, leverage, and when to stop.

This guide compares the two on the points that matter: who controls the trades, where your funds sit, what you pay, how lock-ups and exits work, and which markets each can reach. For the wider picture of every way to copy on Hyperliquid, see our Hyperliquid copy trading guide.

Risk disclaimer: Trading perpetual futures, whether through a vault or a copy-trading app, can lose money quickly, including all of the capital you commit. Leverage can lead to liquidation. A trader's past performance does not guarantee future results. Nothing here is financial, investment, or trading advice.


What is a Hyperliquid vault?

A Hyperliquid vault is a pooled trading account run by a leader. You deposit USDC, the leader trades the whole pool, and you own a share of the vault's profits or losses in proportion to your deposit.

You only decide how much to deposit and when to withdraw. Hyperliquid's docs now describe two kinds of user vault, plus a protocol vault, and the rules differ:

  • HyperCore vaults, which Hyperliquid's docs now label "legacy". These are the vaults listed on Hyperliquid's Vaults page. The leader receives a 10% share of profits. Withdrawals have a 1-day lock-up. Leaders must keep at least 5% of the vault themselves at all times, and must deposit at least 100 USDC to create one. These vaults can trade validator-operated perps only, not spot or HIP-3 markets (HyperCore vaults (legacy), for vault depositors, for vault leaders).
  • HyperEVM vaults, the current design. Builders can create tokenized vaults on HyperEVM with fully customizable accounting, and these vaults can access spot and HIP-3 markets (Hyperliquid docs: Vaults). Because each builder sets its own accounting, fees and lock-ups vary from vault to vault, so read the terms of the specific vault.
  • HLP, the protocol vault. HLP (Hyperliquidity Provider) is community-owned, charges no fees or profit share, and has a 4-day lock-up after your most recent deposit (Protocol vaults). It runs market-making and liquidation strategies, so depositing into HLP isn't really following an individual trader.

What is copy trading on Hyperliquid?

Copy trading on Hyperliquid means software watches a public wallet and places matching trades in your own account, scaled to the capital and limits you choose. You aren't buying into a pool: each copied position is yours.

Hyperliquid has no built-in "copy this wallet" button, so copying is done by third-party apps. Some connect to your existing Hyperliquid account through an API (agent) wallet that your account approves to sign trades on its behalf (Hyperliquid docs: API wallets); copy tools such as Dexly say this agent can't withdraw your funds (Dexly FAQ). Others, such as Coinpilot, create a self-custodial wallet for you and run the whole flow in an app.

Because the trades sit in your account, you can usually:

  • Set how large each copied trade is relative to the leader's (proportional or fixed amount).
  • Cap leverage below what the leader uses.
  • Add a stop loss or take profit on the whole copy.
  • Close individual positions or stop copying whenever you like, without a lock-up.

If you want the mechanics in more depth, our pillar guide on how copy trading works covers allocation, sizing, and why your results won't match the trader's exactly.


How do vaults and copy trading compare side by side?

The main differences are control, custody, and cost. Vaults pool funds under a leader's control and pay that leader a profit share, while copy trading keeps positions in your account under your limits and typically charges per-trade fees.

HyperCore vault ("legacy") HyperEVM vault HLP (protocol vault) Copy trading app (e.g. Coinpilot)
Where funds sit Pooled in the leader's vault Pooled in a tokenized vault on HyperEVM Pooled in the protocol vault Your own account or wallet (Coinpilot: self-custodial via Privy, key exportable)
Who controls sizing and leverage The leader The vault's strategy or leader The protocol's strategies You, through copy settings
Cost model 10% of profits to the leader Set by each vault's accounting; read its terms No fees or profit share Per-trade fees plus Hyperliquid's trading fees (Coinpilot: 0.05% of trade size plus Hyperliquid's fee, $1 activation per new copy wallet, no profit share)
Lock-up on withdrawals 1 day Varies by vault 4 days after your latest deposit None from the copy itself; you can close positions any time the market allows
Markets Validator-operated perps only (no spot, no HIP-3) Can access spot and HIP-3 Market making and liquidations Whatever the app supports (Coinpilot: Hyperliquid crypto perps and HIP-3 stock perps via trade.xyz)
Who you can follow Only traders who run a vault Only vaults that exist Not an individual trader Any public wallet the app supports
Minimum Not stated for depositors; leaders deposit at least 100 USDC Varies by vault Not stated Coinpilot: $100 per Hyperliquid trader
Sources Hyperliquid legacy vault docs, for depositors, for leaders Hyperliquid Vaults Protocol vaults Coinpilot fees, Wallet FAQ

Stock perps on Hyperliquid are synthetic contracts that track equity prices. They are not shares, and they don't give you ownership of any company.


Who controls the trades in a vault vs copy trading?

In a vault, the leader controls everything about the trades: what to trade, how big, how much leverage, and when to exit. In copy trading, the trader decides what to trade, but you decide how much of it reaches your account and under what limits.

That difference shows up most in bad weeks. If a vault leader increases leverage during a drawdown, every depositor carries that exposure, and your only lever is withdrawing, subject to the lock-up. With copy trading, a max-leverage cap or a stop loss on the copy can limit how much of that decision reaches you. On Coinpilot, for example, max leverage uses the lower of the leader's leverage and your cap, and an optional ROI-based stop loss closes copied positions if losses hit your threshold (Advanced Settings).

The trade-off is responsibility: poor settings, such as a ratio too high for your balance, can hurt as much as a poor trader.


How do fees compare: profit share vs per-trade fees?

A HyperCore vault leader takes 10% of profits, so you pay nothing extra in a losing period but give up a slice of every gain. Copy-trading apps usually charge a fee on each trade, which applies whether the trade wins or loses.

Which is cheaper depends on how often the trader trades and how profitable they are:

  • Infrequent, profitable trader. A per-trade fee on a few trades may cost less than 10% of the profits.
  • Very active trader. Per-trade fees add up across many fills.
  • Losing period. A profit share costs nothing; per-trade fees still apply.

In both cases you also pay Hyperliquid's own trading fees and funding on open positions. Hyperliquid publishes its fee schedule on its fees page. On Coinpilot, the platform fee is 0.05% of trade size on opens, increases, closes, and decreases, plus Hyperliquid's fee (which Coinpilot's docs put at up to 0.045%) and a one-time $1 activation fee per new copy wallet. There's no profit share. For a fuller breakdown of how to model these costs, see our guide to copy trading fees.


What about lock-ups, exits, and liquidity?

Vaults can make you wait to get your money out, while copy trading usually doesn't. HyperCore vaults have a 1-day lock-up, HLP has a 4-day lock-up after your latest deposit, and HyperEVM vaults set their own rules.

In copy trading, the positions are already in your account. You can close a position, reduce your allocation, or stop the copy whenever the market is open, subject only to normal trading conditions such as slippage. On Coinpilot, stopping a perp copy closes the positions opened through that trader, and the balance, including profit or loss, returns to your crypto balance.

Fast exits cut both ways: instant control means you need your own rules for when to stop, so set a stop loss on the copy before you start.


Which markets can each route reach?

HyperCore vaults can trade validator-operated perps only, while HyperEVM vaults can reach spot and HIP-3 markets. A copy-trading app can reach whatever markets it supports for the wallets it copies.

This matters if the trader you like trades HIP-3 markets such as stock perps, which a legacy HyperCore vault can't hold. On Coinpilot you can copy Hyperliquid crypto perps and trade.xyz stock perps (HIP-3). Stock perps are synthetic contracts that track prices, not shares, and HIP-3 markets can carry different fees from the core perps.


When does a vault make more sense, and when does copy trading?

A vault suits you if you want a hands-off allocation to one leader and accept a profit share and a lock-up. Copy trading suits you if you want positions in your own account, your own sizing and leverage limits, and the freedom to follow traders who don't run vaults.

A vault may fit if:

  • You trust one specific leader and they run a vault.
  • You'd rather not configure sizing, leverage caps, or stops.
  • You're comfortable with a lock-up and paying a share of profits.

Copy trading may fit if:

  • You want to follow wallets that don't run vaults.
  • You want to cap leverage or set a stop loss below the trader's own risk.
  • You want to spread capital across several traders with different settings.
  • You want no lock-up on your own positions.

Either way, the trader matters most. Use our checklist for choosing a trader to copy before you commit funds.


How does Coinpilot handle Hyperliquid copy trading?

Coinpilot is a free mobile app that copies Hyperliquid traders into a self-custodial wallet. You choose a trader, set a budget and limits, and Coinpilot places matching trades in your wallet.

  • Custody. Wallets are created through Privy. Coinpilot says it can't access your keys or move your assets, and you can export your private key (Wallet FAQ).
  • Allocation. At least $100 per Hyperliquid trader, with up to 9 traders at once across Hyperliquid and Polymarket.
  • Settings. Direct or Inverse copy direction (chosen before you start), Fixed Ratio or Fixed Amount sizing, and optional take profit, stop loss, max leverage, and max margin.
  • Discovery. AI Picks, risk metrics, and a Mock copy that uses no funds (General FAQ).
  • Fees. 0.05% of trade size plus Hyperliquid's fee, a one-time $1 activation per new copy wallet, and no profit share (Fees).

If you'd rather keep positions in your own wallet than pool funds in a vault, you can explore Coinpilot and try a Mock copy first. Copy trading involves risk of loss; past performance doesn't guarantee future results.


FAQ

What is the difference between a Hyperliquid vault and copy trading?

In a vault, your USDC is pooled with other depositors and the leader trades it, so you can't set sizing or leverage. In copy trading, the trader's positions are mirrored into your own account under your settings. Vaults usually pay the leader a profit share; copy apps usually charge per-trade fees.

How much do Hyperliquid vault leaders charge?

On HyperCore vaults, which Hyperliquid's docs now call legacy, the leader receives 10% of profits. HLP, the protocol vault, charges no fees or profit share. HyperEVM vaults use customizable accounting, so their fees depend on each vault's terms.

Is there a lock-up on Hyperliquid vaults?

Yes. HyperCore vaults have a 1-day withdrawal lock-up, and HLP has a 4-day lock-up after your most recent deposit. HyperEVM vaults set their own rules. Copy trading has no lock-up of its own, because positions are in your account.

Can Hyperliquid vaults trade stock perps?

Not HyperCore (legacy) vaults: Hyperliquid's docs say they trade validator-operated perps only, not spot or HIP-3 markets. HyperEVM vaults can access spot and HIP-3. Stock perps are synthetic contracts that track prices, not real shares.

Is copy trading safer than a vault?

Neither is safe. Copy trading gives you more control, such as leverage caps and stop losses, and keeps positions in your own account. But copied trades can still lose money, and poor settings add risk. A vault concentrates your outcome on one leader's decisions.

Can I copy a Hyperliquid trader who doesn't run a vault?

Yes, with a copy-trading app. Every Hyperliquid wallet's trades are public, so apps can mirror any supported wallet, not only vault leaders. Coinpilot lets you copy up to 9 traders at once, with at least $100 per Hyperliquid trader.

Comparing a vault with a copy? Run a Mock copy on Coinpilot to try a trader without funding the copy. Copy trading involves risk of loss.


Closing

Hyperliquid vaults and copy trading both let you follow other traders, but they put control in different hands. Vaults pool your funds under a leader, usually for a 10% profit share and a short lock-up. Copy trading keeps positions in your own account, under your sizing, leverage, and stop-loss limits, for per-trade fees. Decide how much control you want, then choose the trader carefully and allocate only what you can afford to lose.


Keep reading

All guides →